For Immediate Release
May 23, 2018     
Contact: Abby Matienzo, Communications Manager
       703-942-5711 #230

NAELA Joins Aging Advocates Urging CMS to Deny Arizona’s Harmful Request to End Prior Quarter Coverage for the State’s Medicaid Beneficiaries

Washington, DC — Yesterday, NAELA together with other members of the Leadership Council of Aging Organizations (LCAO), submitted a letter urging the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to deny Arizona’s proposed Section 1115 waiver of Medicaid prior quarter coverage. LCAO is a coalition of 70 organizations that provide a voice for seniors and their families in the ongoing national debate on aging policy.

According to the letter, “[Arizona’s] proposal does not meet the requirements for approval of an 1115 waiver as it does not test a proposition nor promote the objectives of federal Medicaid law.”

In 1972, Congress mandated that states receiving Federal funds for the Medicaid program provide up to three months of prior quarter coverage for individuals who could have qualified during that time period. This is particularly important for nursing home coverage, because Medicaid rules are complex and the individual often lacks the capacity to gather the appropriate documents and file the application themselves. 

“This is a clear end-run around Congress that could stick nursing home residents and their families with tens of thousands of dollars in unpayable bills,” said NAELA President Hyman G. Darling, CELA, CAP.

Members of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA) are attorneys who are experienced and trained in working with the legal problems of aging Americans and individuals of all ages with disabilities. Upon joining, NAELA member attorneys agree to adhere to the NAELA Aspirational Standards. Established in 1987, NAELA is a non-profit association that assists lawyers, bar organizations, and others. The mission of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys is educate, inspire, serve, and provide community to attorneys with practices in elder and special needs law. NAELA currently has members across the United States, Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom. For more information, visit

# # #