For Immediate Release
July 26, 2017        
Contact: Abby Matienzo, Communications Manager
       703-942-5711 #230

NAELA Celebrates Americans with Disabilities Act Anniversary

Washington, DC — The National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys celebrates the 27th anniversary of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) on July 26, 2017. Congress enacted the ADA “to provide a clear and comprehensive national mandate for the elimination of discrimination against individuals with disabilities.” The ADA protects people with special needs from discrimination in employment, public services and accommodations, services operated by private entities, transportation, and telecommunication.

Read the NAELA Eye on Elder and Special Needs Issues newsletter, “Ending Our Shameful Segregation of Persons with Disabilities,” by NAELA board member Jason A. Frank, CELA, CAP.

“While NAELA celebrates the ADA, more work needs to be done. Too many persons with disabilities are forced into institutions against their will, which is why NAELA supports the bipartisan Disability Integration Act,” said NAELA President Hy Darling, CELA, CAP. NAELA signed a letter of support along with the Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities on the legislation which, if passed, would ensure the rights of people with disabilities to live full and independent lives in their communities.

Learn more about NAELA public policy and advocacy efforts to support older Americans and people with disabilities


Members of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA) are attorneys who are experienced and trained in working with the legal problems of aging Americans and individuals of all ages with disabilities. Established in 1987, NAELA is a non-profit association that assists lawyers, bar organizations, and others. The mission of NAELA is to establish NAELA members as the premier providers of legal advocacy, guidance, and services to enhance the lives of people with special needs and people as they age. NAELA currently has members across the United States, Canada, Australia, and the United Kingdom. For more information, visit

# # #