About NAELA Lunch & Learns
NAELA Lunch & Learns are a way for members to have a lunch-time conversation about a single topic of interest. Lasting up to one hour, these sessions do not have an instructor with a set agenda to cover; Lunch & Learns give participants the floor to talk about what is important to them. A new Lunch & Learn is presented each month. There never seems to be enough time in the day to get everything done, let alone go to a meeting or attend a workshop out of the office. NAELA Lunch & Learns give NAELA members the opportunity to learn and network with fellow Elder and Special Needs Law attorneys in an informal environment with a minimum amount of time away from work and clients.


Upcoming Lunch & Learns

January 18, 2017  • 12:00 PM ET • 11:00 AM CT • 10:00 AM MT • 9:00 AM PT
February 22, 2017  • 12:00 PM ET • 11:00 AM CT • 10:00 AM MT • 9:00 AM PT
March 23, 2017  • 1:00 PM ET • 12:00 PM CT • 11:00 AM MT • 10:00 AM PT
May 18, 2017  • 1:00 PM ET • 12:00 PM CT • 11:00 AM MT • 10:00 AM PT


Case Note:  “Granny Goes to Jail” Redux

Facilitated by Thomas E. Simmons

Wednesday, January 18, 2017 • Noon ET • 11:00 AM CT • 10:00 AM MT • 9:00 AM PT (up to one hour)

To Register: To avoid any security/system time out settings, please sign in to your NAELA account first before clicking on the event link to register.
Cost: Free to NAELA Members

Get the Most Out of Your Lunch and Learn
This Lunch and Learn is based on the NAELA News article by Thomas E. Simmons. To get the most out of this Lunch and Learn, we encourage you to read this article first. read this article first.

The Conversation
The Third Circuit’s recent 2-1 decision in Zahner v. Pennsylvania Department of Human Services characterized certain annuities as non-countable resources for purposes of Medicaid eligibility. The lower District Court’s opinion, however (which I’ll refer to by its defendant’s name of Mackereth), is also noteworthy. In Mackereth, the Pennsylvania Medicaid agency asserted that the attorneys representing several plaintiffs had committed a federal crime by assisting their clients with Medicaid planning.

Those elder law attorneys who entered practice in the last 15 years or so may not even recall the “Granny Goes to Jail” law that the Medicaid agency in Mackereth invoked. The law makes it a federal crime (a misdemeanor or a felony) for an individual, for a fee, to counsel or assist with a disposal of assets which causes an imposition of a period of Medicaid ineligibility. It first went on the books as one of the many provisions of HIPAA. But it has lain dormant since 1997. Until now.
Join this Lunch & Learn to learn more.

About the Speaker
Thomas E. Simmons is an assistant professor at the University of South Dakota School of Law and a member of the NAELA Journal Editorial Board.


Video Conference Technology for Elder Law Attorneys


Facilitated by Michael J. Amoruso | Stephen J. Spano | Tom Caffrey

Wednesday, February 22, 2017  • 12:00 PM ET • 11:00 AM CT • 10:00 AM MT • 9:00 AM PT (up to one hour) To Register: To avoid any security/system time out settings, please sign in to your NAELA account first before clicking on the event link to register.
Cost: Free to NAELA Members

Get the Most Out of Your Lunch and Learn

This Lunch and Learn is based on the NAELA News article by Tom Caffrey of Premier Software. To get the most out of this Lunch and Learn, we encourage you to read this article first.  

The Conversation
Web-based video conferencing is changing how some elder law firms allocate limited time, expanding how they deliver legal services, allowing firms to offer a more personal client experience, and, most importantly, making a favorable impact on firm profitability. Visualize your firm’s use of technology 10 years ago compared to what you use today and try to imagine how you will be using technology in five or 10 years. Is there any chance that online visual collaboration will not become a greater part of your firm’s operations?

About the Speakers

Michael J. Amoruso is a NAELA Fellow and Vice President. Tom Caffrey is President of Premiere Software. Stephen J. Spano, MBA, JD, CELA, CAP, practices elder law in Saugus, Massachusetts.


Serving the Needs of LGBTQ Clients


Facilitated by Lori Parker, Esq.

Thursday, March 23, 2017  • 1:00 PM ET • 12:00 PM CT • 11:00 AM MT • 10:00 AM PT (up to one hour) To Register: To avoid any security/system time out settings, please sign in to your NAELA account first before clicking on the event link to register.
Cost: Free to NAELA Members

Get the Most Out of Your Lunch and Learn

This Lunch and Learn is based on the NAELA News article by Lori Parker, Esq., published in the Oct/Nov/Dec 2016 issue. To get the most out of this Lunch and Learn, we encourage you to read this article first.  

The Conversation

LGBTQ clients have the same general issues as heterosexual ones when it comes to estate, health care, and Medicaid planning. Because of historical biases against members of the LGBTQ community, however, these clients may have needs that resonate over and above those of heterosexual clients who seek our expertise in elder law. During the Lunch & Learn, we'll look at differing needs within the LGBTQ community, and how we can best serve our LGBTQ clients. Join this NAELA Lunch & Learn to learn more and continue the conversation.

About the Speaker
Lori Parker, Esq., has been an attorney for more than 20 years, during which time she has litigated cases, published numerous articles, and served as a professor of law. She was named a U.S. Fulbright Scholar and is co-chair of the NAELA Medicare, Medicaid, and Health Care Advocacy Section.




Asset Protection Planning for Blended Families


Facilitated by Letha McDowell, CELA

Thursday, May 18, 2017  • 1:00 PM ET • 12:00 PM CT • 11:00 AM MT • 10:00 AM PT (up to one hour) To Register: To avoid any security/system time out settings, please sign in to your NAELA account first before clicking on the event link to register.
Cost: Free to NAELA Members

Get the Most Out of Your Lunch and Learn

This Lunch and Learn is based on the NAELA Journal article, Asset Protection Planning for Blended Families, by Letha Sgritta McDowell, CELA, and Jonathan G. Blattmachr. To get the most out of this Lunch and Learn, we encourage you to read this article first.  

The Conversation
In the blended family context, many of the elder law attorney's common asset protection planning techniques have the potential to cause disruption and damage to delicate family relationships if not employed with care. The article discussed common methods of paying for long-term care and how those methods impact blended families; common asset protection strategies in the context of public benefits and considers the implications of these strategies on blended families; and some suggestions on how to effectively plan for public benefits in the blended family context. Join this NAELA Lunch & Learn to learn more and continue the conversation. 


About the Speaker

Letha Sgritta McDowell, CELA, is a member of both the North Carolina and Virginia Bars and she is a Certified Elder Law Attorney by the National Elder Law Foundation and is certified by the North Carolina Bar as a specialist in elder law. She speaks frequently about a variety of elder law and special needs topics at both a state and national level. She currently practices law with the Hook Law Center. 



Missed an earlier webinar?
Previously recorded lunch and learn programs included great articles on state trusts and Federal Welfare programs, as well as marketing tips to reach baby boomers. Access is free to all NAELA members.

Click here to access these previous webinar recordings.