Who We Are

Members of the Council of Advanced Practitioners are peer nominated and approved NAELA attorneys who exemplify trustworthiness, professionalism and skillfulness. As a result of their commitment and contribution to their clients and the ethical practice of Elder Law and Special Needs Planning, CAP members are esteemed in the field.

CAP member attorneys must:

  • Receive peer nomination
  • Be a current NAELA member
  • Have maintained NAELA membership for 10 consecutive years prior to nomination
  • Hold an AV rating under the Martindale-Hubbell Peer Review Ratings, the highest rating for ethical standards and professional ability
  • Be a NAELA Fellow or a Certified Elder Law Attorney (CELA), which is the only approved designation for certification by the American Bar Association, through the National Elder Law Foundation


  • Be a full-time Elder Law professor or a Legal Services attorney
  • Be a sitting judge

Read more​ about CAP nominations


Members of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys (NAELA) are attorneys who are experienced and trained in working with the legal problems of aging Americans and individuals of all ages with disabilities. Established in 1987, NAELA is a non-profit association that assists lawyers, bar organizations, and others.